I fight back against harassers in Charqieh, Gharbieh, and everywhere in between!

I was going back home alone that day from Roadster Ashrafiyeh to Hamra, it takes a 10 minute drive but lucky me I couldn’t find a service since they consider it as “charqieh – gharbieh” so hell no they won’t drive me there!

– NEWS FLASH PEOPLE, the civil war ended long before I was even born! –

so I kept walking and walking in a hope to find a taxi or anything that could drive me anywhere near home… But after waiting for an hour in the rain and the taxi company said that they need an hour minimum to provide me with a taxi, I decided to walk home!

I reached downtown, or to be exact “Bab-Idris” and suddenly an old guy jumps out of no where and talks to me, I couldn’t hear him since I was listening to music at the time, but I was able to hear him say in his egyptian accent “eih ya gamil, ma betroddesh leih?”…

as usual I SNAPPED! I started yelling at him and saying in arabic “do I look like I’m in the mood for you, or for anyone else to harass me? Yeah, answer me? WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE? (&@#^(*$#” even though it was around 6pm (winter time) and it was kind of dark, but I could see the shock on his face.

He was terrified, he didn’t see it coming. He didn’t expect that a girl would speak up and refuse harassment, especially not in the way that I did…

After yelling at him, I turned my back, took a deep breath and kept walking! that would teach anybody to mess with me again! 😛

Submitted by Red Light

Location: Bad Idriss, Downtown

Time of harassment:   16-20: Afternoon Rush Hour / العصر

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدد

3 responses to “I fight back against harassers in Charqieh, Gharbieh, and everywhere in between!

  1. Mohamad Majzoub

    Thanks for your submission. Just as a note, you can take a service to downtown, and from there another one to hamra; or you can ask an empty taxi for 2 services to hamra, and chances are that you’ll find one to drive you there. I don’t think it’s much of a matter of east & west Beirut; I think it’s more of a matter of zone coverage.

  2. laurelharig

    Yes, I usually pay servicein from Ashrafiyeh to Hamra. Good for you for standing up! Hopefully he will think twice before doing that again!

  3. yeah I know, I usually tell them servicein or 5,000.. I don’t care, I just want to go home after a long day.. but the thing is at that time taxis and service rarely pass by. SHOCKING but true. if I’m even lucky a taxi will pass by every 15 minutes. Even when I stand in front of Hawa Chicken and ask a service to Burj El-Mor (which is just across the bridge) no one takes me! huft..

Leave a Reply

