Harassed daily by the guards at Lebanese University

I was heading to my university in the morning when the security guy (from the army) started hitting on me, and not letting me get inside the campus unless i leave my driving license with him, he wouldn’t take the university card (because i changed cars) and he started checking my pic and comparing it to me saying how innocent i used to look back then and how mature and a women i turned out to be in a few years…

And asking about my origins and what major i am in, but i didn’t answer him, closed my window and drove in, leaving him holding my license in his 2 hands.

Than Around 5, on my way out of uni, i needed to pass by the security guy to take my license back, but the morning officer wasn’t there, there was another one, an older middle age man there, when i asked for my permit, he got it, and wouldn’t hand it over before he finishes stating his comments about it and about me and about my car, and then he leaned down put his arms on my car window, his head was half inside my car, and i started freaking out, wanting so bad to punch his nose with those ugly mustache!

but a car came behind me, and then he gave me my driving license back and blew a kiss in the air while i got out of there! It’s almost a daily experience!

Submitted by kimi elle

Location: Lebanese University

Time of harassment:   10-16: Daytime / عز النهار

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدد

7 responses to “Harassed daily by the guards at Lebanese University

  1. Mohamad Majzoub

    Solution is simple. Just report them to the Dean Of Student Affairs, and he’ll talk to the Officer responsible over them, and the latter will definitely take measures against them. When you’re inside a university it’s much easier to deal with the matter.

  2. Wow. Have you tried making a fdee7a out of this at any of the many times? Filming it? Asking for the guys’ names and telling them you will report them instantaneously and they will be jobless the day after? Doing a direct action on the gate and not accepting to move your car until they give you your ID back, shut the hell up and say that they will never ever ever ask you questions beyond the necessary after this? Infinite number of things you can do. Id like to talk to you over the phone. If this is possible and you see this, please email me @ farahsalka@gmail.com

  3. I don’t like when people said “solution is simple” to something that troubles you, because is judgemental. But I do think the suggestions are good, and that you have more power than you think.

    Harrasment causes anxiety, and when you are anxious it is very hard to think.

    I think it is good that you write about this, not only for you, but for the many others who doesn’t.

  4. Farah Salka

    Ok.. The solution is not simple but simpler than expected. Does that sound better? I agree what with what you say.

  5. thank you for the comments. I would like to say that they have been reported before, w 3melet fdi7a last year, taffet el siyara w batal 7ada yfout 3al uni abel ma ye3tezer w yghayrou.. but Every day they change the security guy, it’s never the same one twice! but 4 days on 5 we get harassed! and i have talked to the responsible and many times they apologize and tell me that some of the army guys: bala assel w bala marba w mish m3alamin, and they yell at him.. fiyon y3almouwon discipline bass mish akhle2.. I am graduating soon! and i m out of there! but i feel bad for my friends, it s very tiring to start worrying every day 2 min before u get to the gate, about what you are gonna hear! and hoping that you get in smoothly without any interrogation!

  6. Farah Salka

    what is the hiring system for those guards? who puts them and who removes them? is this public info or we need to do lots of research in the university to know this? what you are saying is very important.. soon you will be out of this but your friends and future students will not… so if ur dedicated and interested in seeing an end to this- even if a long-term one, you can have a big hand in doing so..would u like to meet to discuss with a few other equally enraged and interested people how we can put an end to this to this cycle..or attempt to?

  7. Hi Kimi,
    is it possible that you email the adventures of salwa campaign, to see how we can bring the attention of the university to this case. We might need more details in order to address a letter to the administration and make it public.
    in case it is okay with you email us at salwa@adventuresofsalwa.com

    best
    Salwa team

Leave a Reply

