Sexually assaulted in Hamra twice in one week

I was walking home alone. When I crossed the street near HSBC I noticed a large man staring at me from the other side of the street. I ignored and continued walking.

I ran into someone I know, and stopped to chat briefly, and then continued on my way alone.

As I walked on the sidewalk across from the Hallmark store, behind a parked SUV, the man who had been staring at me sort of lurched at me with his hands in his pants. I yelled, and crossed the street, and watched as he walked away.

That’s twice in one week. A concerning rate; and much more than the three other times a guy’s groped himself near me in public in the past 10 years.

Submitted by SK

Location: Abd el Aziz Street, Hamra

Time of harassment:  20-2: Night / الليل

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدد

3 responses to “Sexually assaulted in Hamra twice in one week

  1. That’s disgusting. I’m so sorry this happened to you. Can you say what time of the day this took place and what day of the week? Were there other people around or was the street deserted?
    Howare we supposed to act in such a situation? Is there someone we can report this to so that such harassers get punished?

  2. qawemeharassment

    Unfortunately, there are very few legal methods to combat these sorts of incidents. However, there is a security guard that stands by the HSBC on that street, it could be helpful to inform him. In addition, if you see a policeman you can complain to him…but they are rare! Unfortunately, it’s not the first report that we receive from this place.

    Otherwise, check out our list of “How to Resist” suggestions: http://qawemeharassment.com/how-to-resist-%D9%83%D9%8A%D9%81%D9%8A%D8%A9-%D8%A7%D9%84%D8%AA%D8%B5%D8%AF%D9%8A-%D9%84%D9%84%D8%AA%D8%AD%D8%B1%D8%B4/

  3. rabei ahmad

    keep going girls all support to u and salwa campaign

Leave a Reply

