“We can’t be living in a country where it is acceptable for men to do whatever they want to women. We should value ourselves more.”

I was walking to university with my friend. Suddenly i see a very big and tall man leaning over me. He whispered in my ear how he wanted to fondle my breasts and then pinched my butt. I froze because i was so shocked.

My friend pulled my hand and we ran together to the university gate. There were many people on the street. Also, three girls were staring at us in shock. This is one of the few incidents i have encountered.

When i lived in makdisi street,the same men use to shout out the same vulgar remarks everyday. Surprisingly, the darak were the ones that use to harass me the most.

I went to university in beirut and in kaslik. In both universities many professors have the habit of obscenely checking me and other girls out. Last week i was talking to my professor. He is fifty and is married with two kids. While i was talking to him he was staring at my breasts and then cut me off and walked away. I didn’t say anything because i did not want to upset him. Upsetting him might make him fail me. . .

I reached a point were i got used to this behaviour since it is so common and no one will hold them accountable. This is very bad. Something should be done to limit harassment. We can’t be living in a country where it is acceptable for men to do whatever they want to women. We should value ourselves more.

Submitted by Anonymous

Location: Hamra & Kaslik

Time of harassment: 10-16: Daytime / عز النهار

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدد

Leave a Reply

