I confronted a harasser in Tripoli… and “i felt like I actually took back the night!”

yesterday a guy approached me and grabbed my ass, this wasn’t the first time such thing happens to me. Usually i run and cry feeling violated week and definitely shame.

But this time I took your advice and i actually confronted him i started yelling and demanding an apologize and asking him if he would like someone to do that to his mother or sister, i even identified him in front of the people who were there. he started saying sorry and begged me to stop yelling.

I did feel violated at first but then i felt like I was strong, and the way he begging me to stop and leave really empowered me! and this time instead of regretting walking at night alone on the street i actually felt like I actually took back the night!

Submitted by MiRA

Location:  Tripoli

Time of harassment: 20-2: Night / الليل

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

3 responses to “I confronted a harasser in Tripoli… and “i felt like I actually took back the night!”

  1. Bravo ! and good 4 u 4 letting these feelings out of ur system!

  2. waw! u were brave Mira! good for you!
    all the support

  3. I am so proud hun! we r taking back the night alright 😀

Leave a Reply

