“I wanted to jump at the guy, run after him, destroy his damn scooter and cut off his hand.”

With friends we had gone out to Baromètre. It was late at night and one of my friends was a little drunk so we walked – her in our middle – on the street. I supported her from one side another friend of ours from the other. Several of us were walking behind us.

I happened to be the one walking next to the bypassing cars and motorcycles, which was no problem since not many cars pass by at 3 in the morning. I heard the noise of a scooter coming from behind but did not pay much attention to it, since I helped “carrying” my friend.

The scooter passes and the guy on the scooter grabs my butt. Various experiences with harassment have taught me to react and in that specific moment I was furious. I wanted to jump at the guy, run after him, destroy his damn scooter and cut off his hand.

Unfortunately, I could not since I still held on to my friend. So I just yelled and cursed after him. My friends were all pretty drunk so they just started laughing without understanding. It was bad, I was so furious!!!

I guess, sometimes they just get away with it. But that has to change. It will. Happy Resist Harassment Day!!

Submitted by LAH

Location:  Hamra, Beirut

Time of harassment: 2-6: Late Night / ما بعد منتصف الليل

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

Leave a Reply

