Photos of a harasser who thinks “no” means “yes”

I was at Barometre with some friends, hanging out and dancing. I’m a guy so it was me and about 6 or 7 girls dancing in a circle having a good time.

And then, this guy shows up. He came up to one of my friends and asked to dance with her, she said no, and then he persisted and wouldn’t leave her alone. She got mad and then came over the side of the group where I was standing, and I asked what was up. She told me what had happened and I said I could talk to him if she needed, but she said it was fine. Apparently he had kept trying to follow her and would grab her arm, and she was fed up but was happy to be away.

Then he comes up and persistently asks another friend  her name and to dance, and she literally had to yell at him to go away.

Then this guy approaches another of my friends come behind, and persistently demands to dance with her, not taking no for an answer. He grabs her arm and keeps trying to come up behind her, and finally she yells no and walks to other side where I am.

By this point, I’m fucking annoyed. I walk up to him and he doesn’t hear what I say, so he says, “Do you know her? Introduce me to her!”

So I said, “She doesn’t want to dance with you. Please go away and stop talking to us.”

He doesn’t understand at first, so I repeat a few times authoritatively. Then it hits him. And then his eyes turn to fire and he begins cursing at me about fucking me up and sho hay3mel bayro and whatever. And after that, he sits down and stares at me the entire time, waiting for me to leave. He stares, makes gestures to me, and then follows my friends to make sure I don’t leave with them without him being able to physically assault me, as he had explicitly threatened. Obviously I sneak out the back…

Why don’t men understand that “no” means “no”? Get over yourselves and your complexes and get it through your head: If she doesn’t want to talk to you, she DOESN’T want to talk to you. Go away. You’re not as amazing as you think you are and no one else is fooled by your harassment. 7elou3ana!

I sent my friend back in to the bar to take some photographs of this idiot harasser.

Watch out for this kid!

Submitted by Reza

Location: Barometre, Hamra

Time of harassment: 2-6: Late Night / ما بعد منتصف الليل

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

4 responses to “Photos of a harasser who thinks “no” means “yes”

  1. I love the no and yes alterations in this article. How about when No means No? Here is an article about the latest Slut Walk to take place in London:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13739876

  2. Mohamad Majzoub

    It’s good that there’s a photo of the stalker in this post. You see here it’s not in taking the no as a yes, it’s in ignoring completely the girl’s response, and wanting her to accept his “trial version” of a dance before deciding to say yes or no to anything more. It’s like a malicious program that installs itself on your pc whether you chose yes or no to the question “do you want to install this program” before you can uninstall it later on.

  3. THIS DUE TO RAISING MENTALITY . HE HAVE BEEN RAISED TO BE THE MASTER (IN OTHER WORLDS THE LORD , THE MAN , THE LEADER) AND SHE IS THE POOR WOMAN ( THE FOLLOWER ,) HE ORDERS AND SHE MUST SAY YES SHE MUST NOT SAY NO . ITS KIND OF CULTURAL HERITAGE . EVEN THOUGH IT’S THE 21st CENTURY ONE OF THE MOST SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNOLOGY ADVANCED PERIODS BUT MEN ARE STILL LIVING AT THE ERA OF THE HAREM (3ASER ELHARIM) . MEN ALWAYS EXPECT YES AS AN ANSWER THIS EXPLAINS THEIR VIOLENT.

  4. qawemeharassment

    Unfortunately I think this has nothing to do with cultural heritage or the harem. We find these attitudes and behaviours in many other societies as well. Patriarchy, which is a common heritage of many, many cultures, seems to be most responsible for the cancer of sexual harassment and the entitlement men feel.

Leave a Reply

