Molested on the public bus… by the DRIVER

I was taking a public bus down to Jbail on a sunny Wednesday in the middle of the day (between 12am and 1pm) to go to the beach. Just for the record – I was wearing a black/grey cotton dress with black 3/4 leggings, a black vest with short sleeves and sandals. After telling the driver where I wanted to get off and gesturing towards where I was planning to go he offered to drive me to the other side of the highway as it seemed that he was going back to Beirut after his stop there.

The last person got off where I was planning to as well but I thought there is no harm in accepting his offer. So I thought.. A minute later, when we had stopped, I climbed back from the front seat to go towards the door and tried to open it. – Sitting in the front seat of a public bus. Something I am most likely never to do again! – In an attempt to help as the door didn’t open, the bus driver fiddled with it.

Whilst exchanged places with me in this very small corridor of the bus to – apparently – get a better grip at the door, he slightly touched my bum. A second later the door was open and I left immediately.

When I turned around however, he had his hand in his open trousers working on his Willy and grinning at me with the most disgusting smile I had ever seen. The last thing missing was his saliva dropping out of his mouth. Absolutely disgusted and shocked to the bones, I slowly walked away from the bus, not knowing what to do with myself.

After I had stepped down into the streets of Jbail, just off the highway, I looked up and the bus was gone. It took me a few hours to recover from this experience as well as to pull myself together and start the journey back to Beirut in another public bus. This time, I made sure to follow two other women getting on a semi-filled bus and to sit further in the back.

Submitted by CMF

Location: highway next to Byblos city centre

Time of harassment:  10-16: Daytime / عز النهار

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

One response to “Molested on the public bus… by the DRIVER

  1. Thanks for sharing. Please don’t feel guilty for your decisions. They were appropriate decisions, but unfortunately the consequences (actions of the driver) were inappropriate and unacceptable. Despite this incident and the awareness that most others have been harassed on buses, please do NOT stop taking buses. I feel that it is very important for us women to continue using public transportation. Do not let this ‘freedom’ get taken away from us by intimidation–turning the right to travel and public transportation into a male sphere and forcing women to make individualized cars into extensions of the private sphere. I also encourage male supporters to also ride buses and speak up if they see harassment (I have seen this once and it was amazing how all the other men on the bus identified the inappropriate behavior and kicked the man off the bus, and allowing the woman to continue her ride).

Leave a Reply

