“It SERIOUSLY felt like rape, it was practically moral rape considering the things he said”

I was walking back home (I live in the area near Concorde) from hamra with a friend at around 11 pm when we see a man, a seemingly drunk one in his 50s at least, with his hands around the crotch area. At first we figured nature called as it always does with males who feel free to urinate just about anywhere in this country; but we were still kinda scared considering it was pretty dark and deserted.

As we got closer (we had to pass by him), he, for some reason, felt it was ok for him to expose his penis to us. He then began to walk towards us with his hands on his thing while saying some of the most obscene stuff I’ve heard. My friend immediately started running while I chose to ignore him and walk a bit faster (I realized he couldn’t catch up with us considering he was pretty wasted or high). We were terrified and angry at the same time I just didn’t know what to do though I reallyyyy wish I could’ve punched him or something.

The incident still pisses me off but I’m a small person so there really isn’t much I can do in terms of physical defense. It SERIOUSLY felt like rape! it was practically moral rape considering the things he said actually!

Some time afterwards, just as I was getting over that incident, I encountered another similar situation. This time it was around 2pm in the middle of the day with people around. I was also walking back home and I was like 2 steps away from my house when I passed by a man with his hands again in the same area. I just looked away and kept walking. He started following me and saying things again. I just kept walking looking confident and completely ignoring him though I was worried he’d see me walk into the building or follow me inside; but he stopped half way, turned around, and walked back to where he was. I always wonder if that was the same guy I had seen before especially that the two areas where the incidents occurred are pretty close but I can’t seem to remember any of the men’s (or man’s) features.

Submitted by CN

Location: Hamra/Verdun

Time of harassment: 20-2: Night / الليل
10-16: Daytime / عز النهار

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

Leave a Reply

