“I have a right to a safe space where I don’t have to feel objectified and sexualized just because I exist”

I live on top of a restaurant with valet. This means that at any time of the day (and until around 2 AM) there will be a few guys hanging out in front of my apartment, waiting for people to walk by. This also means that, of course, the space in front of my apartment is a space where these men feel completely comfortable harassing me EVERYTIME I walk by.

Today, over dinner with my roommates I mentioned the problem I had and how embarrassing and frustrating it was to be harassed every single time I walked in or out of my apartment. It shouldn’t have surprised me when two of my roommates revealed that they two were CONSTANTLY verbally harassed on a DAILY basis by these men.

I have the right to walk to and from my house without being verbally assaulted just because of how I look. And I have a right to have my own fucking street be a safe space for me where I don’t have to feel objectified and sexualized just because I exist.

I want to confront one of the guys and take a video. If I succeed, I’ll post it. Wish me luck in doing something about this virtual imprisonment!

Submitted by RK

Location: Manara

Time of harassment: 10-16: Daytime / عز النهار

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

3 responses to ““I have a right to a safe space where I don’t have to feel objectified and sexualized just because I exist”

  1. Hey. Thanks for sharing.
    I totally understand your frustration but I dont see why you dont answer back anytime or every time they say something or look up to you in an insulting way. It is YOUR apartment and YOUR building and they ought to at least respect that if they cant respect anything else.
    They need to feel scared and/or threatened that if they annoy you, you will report them or ask them to be thrown out of work. You have the capacity to do that you know. I can help if you want.
    Seriously.
    That sucks. If you wont stand up for this it will continue endlessly.

  2. Every since I wrote this and posted I have gotten angrier about something I previously just tolerated and complained about.

    How can I report them? Is threatening to complain to their boss the one card I can pull?

    Is taking a camera and asking them on video why they harass me, and then telling them to stop, a good idea? Scare them a bit by taking footage? How else do I stand up to this?

  3. I am happy to hear. All the options you mentioned are doable. I can join along if you want. Speak up to their face, with or without camera, is the first basic thing that can be done. It might scare you now but understand that it will scare them too because they never ever expected you to do that on the long run.

Leave a Reply

