“the sick fuck expected we’d just say, ‘smallah, ayrak 7elw. yalla nshrub shi?’ “

I was walking to barometre with a few friends around 11 or 12 at night on a weekend when I noticed a guy standing about 20 meters up, on the right side of the sidewalk, staring at us but with his hands at an awkward angle near his crotch. my friends didn’t notice and kept walking, but i made eye contact with the guy and kept it, looking down once as we got close because his penis was visible. I looked back at him and he put it away, but then followed close behind us. When we sat down outside barometre, we all noticed him across the street masturbating and staring, and we complained to the bar staff. he ran away, but the bar stuff didn’t care and decided not to do anything.

if we hadn’t been in a big group near a restaurant wtf would this guy have done? why the need to wave your penis in public? wonder if the sick fuck expected we’d just say, “smallah, ayrak 7elw. yalla nshrub shi?”

i was so mad afterwards, I kept thinking how I should’ve slapped him and started screaming when we were walking by. or physically assaulted him when he was across the street in full view. or punched him. or, or, or…. i ended up obssessing about what I should have done the entire weekend..

Submitted by R

Location: Near Barometre, Hamra

Time of harassment: 20-2: Night / الليل

Do you have a personal experience with sexual harassment or assault you would like to share? Please click here and fill out the online submission form. All submissions are posted anonymously unless you specify.

هل لديك تجربة شخصية مع التحرش الجنسي أو الاعتداء تريد مشاركته ؟ الرجاء الضغط هنا وملء استمارة التقديم على الانترنت. وتنشر جميع التقارير مجهول ما لم تحدده

3 responses to ““the sick fuck expected we’d just say, ‘smallah, ayrak 7elw. yalla nshrub shi?’ “

  1. I have also seen this guy. A friend of mine who lives in Ain el Mreisseh warned me about him before I walked to her house from medical gate. Sure enough, he was right where she said he’d be. Luckily neither of us were ever followed by him.

    I told a friend about this guy and as it turns out my friend (who was very angry that this was happening) happens to be friends with the head of police for that area. He told the head of police, who then told all the policemen in that area to keep an eye out for the guy. I don’t know why they hadn’t seen him before, but I hope it makes a difference that they’re looking for him now.

  2. Totally know what you mean…I’ve been in a similar situation more than once and I still get pissed off when I think about it…it was more than just that actually…but yeaa exhibitionists (and more) sadly do exist…I guess I’ll write about my own experiences too.

  3. hi i ve read so many harassement stories on this blog it seems barometre area is a place where harassment occurs a lot! Someone should complain to the baladieh like in furn el chebback there is a passage under the bridge for a long while they put police there because of the harassment. Or maybe we should start of taking back the night there.

Leave a Reply

